From CoBaT Cave to Man Cave Harold Doty's Transformation of UT-T's Business College

The faculty news bureau at USMNEWS.net recently re-examined one of the reports linked to the top of each installment in the new *Special Report Series* on Karen St. John's lawsuit against the University of Texas-Tyler. Again, much of that lawsuit stems from what sources call bad behavior from UT-T business college dean Harold Doty, the former b-school dean at USM (2003-07), aimed at St. John, the plaintiff in the case. That older linked report, <u>The CoBaT Cave</u>, provides a list of the 26 faculty in UT-T's business school on the eve of Harold Doty's arrival as their new dean back in 2009. That list of faculty is inserted below:

Clayton Allen, Professor of Technology James Browne (PhD), Visiting Assistant Professor of Management Sharon Cathcart, Associate Professor Tammy Cowart (JD), Senior Lecturer in Business Law Amanda Davis (PhD), Assistant Professor of Business Communication Rita Dobbs (doctorate), Associate Professor Mary Fagan (PhD), Associate Professor of Information Systems Mary Fischer (PhD), Professor of Accounting Isaura Flores (PhD), Assistant Professor of Management Nancy Francis, Visiting Lecturer in Accounting Sandra Gates (PhD), Assistant Professor of Accounting Tommy Gilbreath (doctorate), Associate Professor of Technology Gus Gordan (PhD), Associate Professor of Accounting John Hansen (PhD), Professor James Harbaugh (EdD), Associate Professor Matthew Lindsey, Assistant Professor of Management Mark Miller (PhD), Professor of Technology Vivek Pandey (DBA), Associate Professor of Finance Paul Roberts (EdD), Associate Professor Jana Rutherford (ABD), Assistant Professor of Marketing Hwan Shin (PhD), Assistant Professor of Finance Richard Swanson (EdD), Distinguished Research Professor of Human Resource Development Jim Tarter (PhD), Professor of Management Mark Washburn, Senior Lecturer in Accounting Barbara Wooldridge (PhD), Associate Professor of Marketing Marilyn Young (PhD), Professor of Management

That was *then*, this is *now*. Below, that list is reproduced, however the names of those who have departed UT-T are stricken:

Clayton Allen, Professor of Technology James Browne (PhD), Visiting Assistant Professor of Management Sharon Cathcart, Associate Professor Tammy Cowart (JD), Senior Lecturer in Business Law Amanda Davis (PhD), Assistant Professor of Business Communication Rita Dobbs (doctorate), Associate Professor Mary Fagan (PhD), Associate Professor of Information Systems Mary Fischer (PhD), Professor of Accounting Isaura Flores (PhD), Assistant Professor of Management Nancy Francis, Visiting Lecturer in Accounting Sandra Gates (PhD), Assistant Professor of Accounting Tommy Gilbreath (doctorate), Associate Professor of Technology Gus Gordan (PhD), Associate Professor of Accounting John Hansen (PhD), Professor James Harbaugh (EdD), Associate Professor Matthew Lindsey, Assistant Professor of Management Mark Miller (PhD), Professor of Technology Vivek Pandey (DBA), Associate Professor of Finance Paul Roberts (EdD), Associate Professor Jana Rutherford (ABD), Assistant Professor of Marketing Hwan Shin (PhD), Assistant Professor of Finance Richard Swanson (EdD), Distinguished Research Professor of Human Resource Development Jim Tarter (PhD), Professor of Management Mark Washburn, Senior Lecturer in Accounting Barbara Wooldridge (PhD), Associate Professor of Marketing Marilyn Young (PhD), Professor of Management

The attrition shown above is nothing short of *un*real, to sources at least. Among those 12 faculty above who are no longer with UT-T's business school are 9 junior professors (rank at associate or below). That means that 75% of those who fled or were forced out of the Doty administration were likely closer to the beginning of their careers than they were to the end at the time of departure. Among these 9 junior faculty, 6 were assistant professors or below. Thus, almost 70% of the junior group held the lowest academic rank(s). Of course, these data also <u>support</u> <u>allegations</u> made by an anonymous witness/bystander to events in Tyler.

Lastly, the list above is reproduced just below, with the exception that the new faculty, hired in by Doty since 2009, replace those who have departed.

Sherry Avery, Associate Professor of Management Brent Beal, Associate Professor of Management Stephen Bushardt, Professor of Management Andrea Ellinger, Professor of HRD James Browne, Visiting Assistant Professor of Management Tammy Cowart, Assistant Professor of Business Law Mary Fagan, Associate Professor of Information Systems Dominick Fazarro, Associate Professor of IT & IM Mary Fischer, Professor of Accounting Ryan Gardner, Assistant Professor of Accounting Tommy Gilbreath, Associate Professor of Technology Jerry Gilley, Professor of HRD Gus Gordan, Associate Professor of Accounting Kathy Kapka, Senior Lecturer in Accounting Kerri Keach, Assistant Professor of Marketing Heshium Lawrence, Assistant Professor of IT & IM Roger Lirely, Professor of Accounting Rochelle McWhorter, Assistant Professor Mark Miller, Professor of Technology Vivek Pandey, Associate Professor of Finance Paul Roberts, Associate Professor Jana Rutherford, Assistant Professor of Marketing Hwan Shin, Assistant Professor of Finance Judy Sun, Senior Lecturer Krist Swimberghe, Assistant Professor of Marketing

Jim Tarter, Professor of Management Greg Wang, Professor of HRD Veronda Willis, Assistant Professor of Accounting Barbara Wooldridge, Associate Professor of Marketing Chen Wu, Assistant Professor of Finance Marilyn Young, Professor of Management

With the new faculty replacements, the b-school at UT-T has grown from 26 faculty to 31 faculty. Thus, <u>Doty's claim</u> to have rebuilt the UT-T business college faculty is substantiated by this report, though there is no admission in his "Message from the Dean" about how that faculty had been destroyed. New faces brought in by Doty include Stephen Bushardt, Doty's controversial colleague from USM. Kerri Keech, an integral player in St. John's lawsuit, is also among the new faculty. Keech's colleague, Tammy Cowart, also an integral figure in St. John's lawsuit, appears to have been promoted by Doty since he arrived in Tyler back in 2009.

Finally, it is worth noting that, on the eve of Doty's arrival in 2009, more than 46% of the UT-T b-school faculty ranks was comprised <u>of women</u> a remarkable record for the east-Texas institution. However, since Doty – the dean who St. John and others allege <u>refers to females</u> as "chicks and broads" – has "rebuil[t] the faculty" there, that statistic is falling, having so far <u>dipped below</u> 42%.